#Janathon 2014: Day 23 – Thursday is intervals day

I woke up on my first early alarm, and assured myself I’d get out of bed in a second when my second early alarm went off. And then all of a sudden it was 20 minutes later and I’d blinked and fallen back asleep – no interval running before work for me then!

So a dinnertime run it was; I really didn’t want to go out by then, I wanted to eat my dinner watching Neighbours and go for a casual walk afterwards in the sunshine. This is starting to become a habit, not wanting to run! I forced myself to the changing room, remembering that on Tuesday it felt so much better once I’d been out. In the changing room someone said to me that it doesn’t matter how slow you go, just so long as you’re out there, enjoying the sunshine. Holding onto that thought and promising myself I’d walk inbetween intervals rather than jog, I started looking forward to it a bit more. Then I realised I’d left my Garmin on my desk so it wouldn’t be timed intervals after all!

I reassured myself it didn’t matter, set strava going on my phone and just decided to go fast when I felt I could, and take it easy when I felt I had to.

20140123-104447 pm.jpg

Gorgeous blue sky

It was a lovely day and I was so glad I had gone out. I felt like I was striding out down the hill but maintaining a good rhythm so stayed with it, slowing down when I turned back up to go up another hill. (No wonder I don’t like the idea of running at work, it’s all hills!)  I kept running and jogging and walking as I could up the hill and before I knew it I was back on the flat on the home stretch back towards work.

20140123-104300 pm.jpg

Run

It seemed to take me longer to recover my breathing whilst stretching than is normal, and I was pleased to see on Strava that it was because I’d run quickly for me – I really wasn’t expecting to have set my fastest 1/2 mile, 1 km, 1 mile and 2 mile times!

20140123-104233 pm.jpg

Strava Trophies

Day 23: 4km in 26 minutes.

Leave a Reply

