English Girl in New York…

..in a heat wave doesn’t go well. This was the day I cried because I was so hot. But other than that a fab day!

Wednesday 8th June 2011

Red steps, Times Square

Times Square

I couldn’t believe how busy Times Square was first thing in the morning. People going to work in suits in the baking heat, the screens already lit up – Times Square is never dull! It really comes alive after dark but is a fascinating place at any time of day; I could have sat and watched the world go by for ages!

Instead we headed to the Hell’s Kitchen area for breakfast. We went into a place called Smiths that was almost empty and didn’t look great from the outside but their eggy bread with strawberries was gorgeous! Jay had the sort of style American breakfast I don’t like – crispy, streaky bacon with a chopped potato and pepper mix and fried eggs. He enjoyed it at least!

Breakfast in Smiths, Hell’s Kitchen

Sculptures near Central Park

We walked up Fifth Avenue to Central Park, spending several hours in the zoo! I loved the sealions, penguins and turtles, and although its quite small we managed to spend a lot more time there than intended. Unfortunately we missed the polar bear – I caught sight of it diving but Jay dragged me into the penguins first…by the time we came out the polar bear had been put inside due to the heat! I still haven’t forgiven him…

Penguins

Sleepy

Whilst in the zoo I forgot we were in the middle of a bustling city, it was only the sight of sky scrapers at the edges of the park that reminded me of the location.

Central Park

We walked back down towards Hell’s Kitchen to visit the Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum. This is where I’m a bit hazy. I know we walked around for ages trying to find somewhere to eat but were a bit late for dinner so most places had stopped serving until tea time. It was about 105+ degrees Farenheit (there was a sign on a petrol station) and that area is so open and barren for a city, there was no respite from the heat. I can’t remember what set me off but it was so unbearable that I cried my eyes out, plodding along! We finally found somewhere serving food – I was past it really but it was so nice to be in the cool indoors with a cold drink.

One way to park your car!

By the time we’d eaten and gone back to Intrepid we’d missed the last entry…which I think was probably for the best (we went back the next day when I wasn’t as tearful) so we went back to the hotel. I imagine Jay went back out while leaving me in the air conditioned room to recover for an hour!

In the evening we did a bit more exploring and went to find the Rockafeller Centre. Its amazing to see places in real life that you recognise from films! One of the things I love about New York is the buildings – so many different things to look at it. Modern skyscrapers like Trump Towers, the Chrysler building, Empire State Building, the thin wedge building – there’s such a variety. All summed up by this church and sky scraper.

Church

Rockafeller Centre

Back in Times Square we went in the Toys R Us – only in America would you have a ferris wheel in a shop, I’m sure of it! And a house sized dolls house in a shop! Unbelievable!

Ferris Wheel in Toys R Us

Barbie House in Toys R Us

Transformers

I not much of a shopping person so along with Toys R Us, the shops we spent the most time in M&M’s World, The Disney Store and Apple (I’ve never seen queues like it!).

And to prove bright lights work we ate our tea in Ruby Tuesday in Times Square!

Ruby Tuesday

