New York, New York

A year ago today we went on holiday to celebrate Jay’s graduation, thanks to a generous gift from his parents. We went to New York for a few days before moving onto Montreal for the F1 race. I intended to blog about the holiday at the time, but with the Canadian GP coming up this weekend it’s reminded me that I haven’t ever got round to it!

Tuesday 7th June 2011

We flew to JFK with Virgin, and my first long haul flight went smoothly. I thought it would drag but it’s amazing how much time I can spend watching films and napping! We got the airport train and subway into Manhattan which was cheap and easy, but took ages to get to the Port Authority Bus Terminal, our closest subway.

View from the plane

Our hotel was only a couple of blocks away so once we headed in the right direction, it didn’t take us long to find it. Hotel 41 was the cheapest I could find in the area and was absolutely perfect for us. A comfy bed, wardrobe with safe, en-suite and lovely lovely air conditioning – what more could you ask for? The room wasn’t huge but I’d recommend staying there as we were happy with the service, particularly when I left my purse in the safe and they organised returning it to me once I was home!

We were keen to make the most of our first evening so went and explored a few tourist spots, in particular Times Square which was really close to the hotel. I couldn’t really get my head around actually being there, it felt like we were in a film set, not actually in New York City!

Times Square

Times Square

Aside from looking up in awe at skyscrapers and all the adverts in Times Square, we visited Grand Central Station and went up to the observation deck of the Empire State Building, which was absolutely breath taking.

Grand Central Station

Lobby in the Empire State Building

View from Empire State Building

View from Empire State Building

View from Empire State Building

We came across Bryant Park and spent some time relaxing there, taking it all in. I loved the atmosphere of the park; it was great to people watch all the locals making the most of their evenings.

Untitled

View from Bryant Park

Fountain in Bryant Park

As first impressions go, New York really made a great big impression on me! I hadn’t expected to like it (I don’t like London), but it was fabulous. It was hot, (which only got worse through our time there as they had a heatwave, and so it was something I really struggled with), but it was just about bearable on our first day! I also loved the free wifi in the parks and think it’s something that should be available everywhere!

All of my photos are on flickr – click here if you would like to have a nosey at them 🙂

