Photoshoot with Chris Brock for the UKRC

Last year I was lucky enough to be chosen to take part in the Ingenious Women project run by the UKRC.

The UKRC is an organisation providing support and advice for women in science, engineering, technology and the built environment. The organisation also works with a variety of other organisations to promote gender equality.

The Ingenious Women project was developed to raise the profile of female engineers as only 8% of British engineers are female. You can read my posts about the project by clicking on the Ingenious Women category on the blog.

As part of the project photographer Chris Brock came to work to do a photoshoot.

Chris and his assistant were lovely and put me totally at ease. He told a few stories about the different people he has worked with before to help me relax – apparently even models and sports people can have bad photos!

I love taking pictures but hate having my photo taken, I generally have a lopsided face or lazy eye ruining photographs of me! And then there’s the difficulty of what to do with my hands – J always takes the mickey because apparently when a camera is pointed at me I look like a penguin with my hands at my sides. Luckily Chris is experienced enough to deal with bad subjects!

By the end of the session I was struggling to raise a smile, I now know why models pout! Still it was a fun half hour πŸ™‚

My favourites are below & the rest are on flickr.

Photo Credit: Chris Brock http://www.chrisbrock.co.uk

Photo Credit: Chris Brock

Photo Credit: Chris Brock

His blog post about the project shows a few of the shots of some of the other women involved. Thank you to the UKRC for organising it and to Chris for getting involved.

2 thoughts on “Photoshoot with Chris Brock for the UKRC

Leave a Reply

