Apple Frangipani Tart

A guy at work brought in some cooking apples to share out only a few days after I saw a recipe for apple frangipani tart. It was too good of a coincidence to miss, so I brought a couple of cooking apples home to try it out.

I finally got round to making the tart today, only to find that I had helpfully tidied the recipe away, so had to google another one. I found this one on the Good Food channel website so used that instead.

The Pastry

I bought ready made & rolled shortcrust pastry (the other recipe suggested it so who am I to argue? ;-)), so I greased a cake tin and lined it with the pastry. After getting some advice from twitter (thanks everyone!) I blind baked the pastry by covering it in greaseproof paper (it came with the pastry so it really was worth buying ready made!) & pouring some rice in. I didn’t quite use enough rice as part of the side wall had bent over, so next time I’ll  make sure I fill it to the top of the tin.

Apple Filling

I heated a knob of butter with 2 tablespoons of sugar & 2 tablespoons of lemon juice in a pan before adding chopped apples & covering in water. I used two cooking apples & one gala (as it was looking a bit wrinkly and I knew I wouldn’t eat it this week) and this was plenty.

Frangipani

I made the frangipani mix using the following ingredients:

  • 125 g unsalted butter
  • 125 g icing sugar
  • 100 g ground almonds
  • 25 g plain flour
  • 2  medium eggs
The original recipe called for amaretto liqueur, but at £10 for 1 litre bottle I decided that was a bit too steep for one recipe. The second recipe suggests rum essence but mine was fine without any alcohol.

I put the flour, sugar, butter and ground almonds in a bowl and mixed a little bit before adding one of the eggs. I used an electric whisk to combine it all before adding the second egg. When I make cakes or buns I tend to be quite specific about which spoon (metal or wooden) I use at what stage but for this I bunged it all together and it worked fine, the frangipani was light and airy so I won’t worry in future about using a whisk the whole way through!

Once the pastry was baked, I filled the bottom of the case with the cooked apples and spooned the frangipani over the top. I tried to pipe it as suggested in the recipe, but it just didn’t work so I gave up on that plan, but as with cake mixtures it smoothed out as it cooked and came out perfect.

The only problem was I forgot to set a timer or even look at the clock! At 190 degC in a fan assisted oven, however long I left it for was too long!

Thankfully, avoiding the overdone bit, it has turned out really nice. I normally have to have extra sugar with apple puddings but this was sweet enough even for me. Lovely served warm with a bit of ice cream 🙂

One thought on “Apple Frangipani Tart

Leave a Reply

