Women in Engineering

I am a woman and I am a motorsport engineer….I’m not the only one there are plenty more of me, and we don’t need special treatment. But there are so few female engineers that something needs to be done to encourage more of us!

That’s why I think taking part in projects such as The UKRC’s Ingenious Women project is so important, I want to learn the best way to promote engineering as a career, not only to women, but to young people in general.

In the motorsport industry the FIA clearly see it as a priority as Todt set up a Women & Motorsport Commission; and whilst they are doing something, it’s a shame they don’t have a website with a bit more information about how they are going about their business.

It gained a fair amount of coverage when announced in the motorsport press, so that is giving the issue some publicity I guess.

But what else can be done? I fear its something beyond just encouraging girls into following what’s perceived as a “different” career choice, but at the moment more to do with tuition fees at university. Once all the fuss dies down about fees being increased hopefully young people realise that engineering is a brilliant career and worth the investment.

I’m going to do a few blog posts around and about this subject but I thought I’d start with this as a kind of introduction. Please feel free to discuss any questions or thoughts in the comment section 🙂

3 thoughts on “Women in Engineering

  1. Hi Kayleigh,
    I understand where you are coming from about not receiving special treatment from your industry / company as a woman, but it would be good to increase the number visible women in engineering as a whole.
    One thing we can do is encourage all the women we know in engineering not to be shy about talking about what they do, at all levels and particularly to youngsters. There are a number of ways we can do this through STEMNET, the UKRC, local groups etc etc.
    Has the Women and Motorsport Commission joined Connect? This may encourage them to be more proactive.

    Keep writing
    Erica

  2. Hi Erica,

    Yeh I agree, I think it’s vital to increase the profile of women in engineering, so that perhaps when the public think of an ‘engineer’ they don’t just picture a middle aged man in a boiler suit!

    I haven’t been able to find very much out about the Women and Motorsport Commission yet, it’s all kept very quiet! And forgive my ignorance, but what is Connect?

  3. I’ve had an email from Rukhsana at the UKRC explaining a bit about Connect so I thought I would post the info here, to help anyone else out!

    ‘Connect is an online community linking together women’s networks. There are over 200 women’s networks listed on the UKRC’s Connect site, with information reaching around 26,000 individuals. Women’s networks registered with Connect are invited to unique networking events, and have access to downloadable resources for running a successful network, case studies, funding advice, members events diary and much more.’

    The website is: http://www.theukrc.org/women/connect

Leave a Reply

