Day 1

Today is Day 1 of attempting doing Rosemary Conley’s Amazing Inch Loss Plan, a book I got from the library to follow a 28 day plan to try to get into some good habits such as doing much more exercise than I currently do. Now don’t worry I’m not going to bore you with a post every day whilst doing this but I thought I’d share my first day & initial thoughts with you.

Over the past few years weight has gradually creeped on & it was only when looking through some old photos at the weekend did I realise how different I look. I knew I had put 3 stone on gradually so of course I look fatter than is proportional for my frame (and fatter than when I was 3 stone lighter!), but I thought I was always really curvy so there isn’t much difference overall.

Looking back at photos from 2004 (on top of the Eiffel Tower on a freezing foggy December’s day when I’d gone on a day trip for the Race of Champions) I’m well covered in several layers but you can see how much thinner I was. My legs look half the size they now look when wearing jeans & my face is so much thinner. So even though I’d already decided that I wanted to turn over a fresh, healthy leaf this week, that gave me the added motivation to get back down to the size I was then.

Jay pointed out that in the past when I’ve wanted to lose weight I’ve tried to change too much at once & perhaps I should concentrate on just doing more exercise rather than trying to diet & exercise. But I’ve used all the excuses in the book in the past ‘oh I haven’t lost any weight this week because I haven’t sorted my diet’ or ‘I haven’t lost any weight this week because even though I did well dieting I didn’t do any exercise’. Plus I don’t think my heart was really in before; I knew I should lose weight, but eating that second chocolate bar was more appealing than eating an apple. Now I am really fired up, motivated to lose the weight for me; I want to be healthier, fitter and have more energy.

So I’ve decided to set myself a target – a weight loss of 3 stone in 4 months (just in time for the end of season party at work). What’s more important is that I want to lose a steady 2lbs a week so if takes me longer then that’s fine. I’d rather do this the right way than crash diet & end up doing more harm than good. The first month I will follow the Rosemary Conley plan, but then I will focus more on eating healthily and exercising more, rather than counting calories.

The plan is designed the same as most of the Rosemary Conley diets – 2 weeks ‘kick-start’ with 1200 calories a day & building up the exercise that you do before increasing your calorie allowance to 1400 a day, by reintroducing (small) treats. Then after the 28 days you get a daily calorie allowance based on your individual statistics.

Exercise goes hand in hand with the diet, and every day the plan gives you 5 minutes of toning exercises to do, from sit ups to squats, lunges to waist bends. Cardio exercise is also recommended, but the reason I thought this would be a good plan for me to do right now as I don’t have normal energy levels and I’m mid house move so doing an hour aerobics class every night isn’t an option. The 28 day plan starts exercise off gently, gradually building up as its intended for beginners who have never done anything remotely strenuous. Perfect for me then 😉

So over the weekend I made a list of dinners & teas so that I could get everything I needed for the week ahead as organisation is the bit I struggle with the most. And plus because I’m lazy, if I’m hungry I’ll go for the quickest & easiest option – which usually tends to be full of fat, loads of calories and doesn’t have much nutritional value.

Today could have gone horribly wrong because although I had a shopping list of healthy things, I didn’t actually have anything in the house. So I had to wing it a bit, but luckily it turned out alright!

Normally I would have a yoghurt first thing to keep me going to breakfast at about 10am but today I just had to go hungry until poached eggs on toast.

Then for dinner I had chicken breast, salad & new potatoes which wasn’t as healthy as if I had cooked it myself as no doubt the chef used loads of butter on the potatoes as they tasted so good but it was definitely the best option in the canteen. I did have a solero for pudding but I reckoned that was my 100 calories spare from not having a yoghurt first thing.

After dinner I did a quick 1/2 mile walk & managed to go all afternoon without wanting to snack (this is a very rare!). Seems like getting that solero was worth it after all!

I went to my new house straight from work & spent about an hour lugging boxes and furniture around as I needed to put loads of stuff in the garage & generally tidy the place up a bit, after literally just dumping everything yesterday. That certainly worked up a sweat & was like doing a weights session in the gym some of the boxes were so heavy!

After that I had to go get all the good healthy shopping – which I was dreading if I’m honest. Having not eaten since 1.30pm going into Tesco at 8pm is very dangerous territory for me. But I stuck to my list, ignored the cakes & goodies on offer & got a basket full of healthy stuff 🙂  I thought I’d do a stir fry for tea as it would be the quickest thing, so I made Chilli Prawn Stir Fry from the Rosemary Conley book. Prawns, peppers, mushrooms, onion, beansprouts, sweet chilli sauce…..done 😀 My kinda cooking! Plus there’s enough for dinner tomorrow so I won’t need to run the gauntlet with the canteen again.

My total calorie intake for the day: 1200 🙂

Finally just before bed I’ve done my 5 minutes of toning & packed my book in my bag to give me inspiration and motivation to pick the most healthy option from the pub I’m going to for tea tomorrow night 😉 Wish me luck!

5 thoughts on “Day 1

  1. You should Sellotape a picture of Kimi to your fridge. Motivation 😉 I wanted to put Jenson on our fridge but hubs wouldn’t let me, hence why I’m still overweight 😦

  2. Yay, so proud of you for sticking to your healthy eating!

    I totally know what you mean about being organised and planning ahead because I also tend to go for something quick and full of fat if I haven’t planned my meals and snacks ahead. Planning is quite time-consuming tho!!

    Keep up the good work! 🙂

    • Thank you, this week hasn’t been as healthy as I’d like but still made the best of what I could. Next week will be much easier as will be totally moved in & settled 🙂

Leave a Reply

